Mike Vacanti: “Fitness Stuff Made for Us Normal People”

One of my friends posted a video by this guy, Mike Vacanti, whose into fitness. He’s twenty-something which isn’t all that unusual for a guy his age to enjoy spending time in the gym, lifting weights and then making a video about it. What is different is that this video is directed towards baby boomers. He stresses the importance of exercise, no matter what age you are. I was so impressed with Mike, I subscribed to his Twitter feed and You Tube channel.

This may come as a shock, but I need motivation just like you do. I enjoy exercising but I can get distracted by other obligations during the day and before I know it, all I want to do is put on my jammies and either 1. watch TV or 2. read a book. Before I know it, a week has gone by and I haven’t done anything to honor my body (yoga, dance, walk) and that’s not good.

So to honor the new year, I plan to watch more videos like Mike’s and keep myself motivated. How about you? Are you with me?

This first video talks about being patient with yourself; something we humans have problems with. We want results in minutes but our bodies don’t work that way.

 

The second video is the one I found on my friend’s Face Book page. Since I turned sixty a few months ago, I felt he was talking to me. I want to be independent for as long as I can and I refuse to end up in an assisted living place. I will do whatever it takes to keep myself healthy and mobile.

See what you think. Does he resonate with you?

Be well and get off your ass!

Inge

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

