Homemade Non Toxic Deodorant

deodorant 005

Ever since my cancer diagnosis, I’ve changed not only what I put inside my body, but what I put on my skin. I’ve stopped using products that contain these known toxic ingredients:

Aluminum
Propylene glycol
Formaldehyde
Parabens

I’ve been buying a non-toxic deodorant for a few months now that works really well, but its expensive, as least for me anyway, since hubby and I are on a strict budget. I ran out of it a couple of weeks ago and don’t smell pretty…if you get my drift. I tried using apple cider vinegar, rose-water and washing my armpits several times a day, but none of them worked for very long. So I went on the Internet to look for cheaper ways to smell better.

Bentonite clay kept popping up in my search. It detoxifies the body and can be used to make deodorant. There were several recipes using bentonite clay that looked pretty easy, so after a few trial and errors, I came up with my version of it. All the ingredients cost me about $30.00 but will probably last a year, which is much cheaper than buying six jars a year at $15.00 each.

Here’s what you’ll need to get started:

Arrowroot Flour (Bob’s Red Mill)
Bentonite Clay (Aztec Secret)
Baking Soda
Organic Unrefined Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (Doctor Bronner’s)
Lavender Essential Oil

Small Mixing Bowl
Chopstick or Ice Tea Spoon (to mix up ingredients) if you only have regular teaspoon, that will do the job as well.

Add these ingredients to the bowl:

2 tbsp. bentonite clay
6 tbsp. arrowroot flour
2 tbsp. baking soda
6 tbsp. coconut oil
10-15 drops essential oil

Mix well. And I almost forgot, make sure the coconut oil is liquid. If it’s solid, scoop out 6 tbsp., put it in another small bowl and let it sit in the sun until it melts.

You will end up with a lot of deodorant, so transfer what you want to use to a small glass jar. I used an empty cosmetic jar (I repurpose most of my glass jars) that’s been sitting around and put the leftover in a bigger jar and keep it in the refrigerator. The one in the frig will harden but will soften back up if you leave it by a sunny window. I keep the smaller jar in my medicine cabinet.

I put a dab under each armpit this morning and still smell good eight hours later as I write this, so I know it works.

Be well and Smell Good,

Inge

 

Leave a Reply

