Massage Therapy and Cancer

massage

I worked as a massage therapist for 3 years and I loved it! I enjoyed giving massage as well as receiving it, in fact the best part of going to massage school was getting a massage! A small percentage of my clients had cancer and they came to see me because their bones ached. When I had cancer, I understood what they were saying. All those drugs effected my bones, muscles and joints. I still have problems 4 years later and all I can do is manage the symptoms with yoga—and massage.

A paper written in 2007 by The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), part of the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM), a branch of the National Institutes of Health, discusses the benefits of massage and how it is being offered to patients as a complimentary treatment, not only for cancer but a host of other medical problems.

If you know someone who is going through cancer treatment, a gift card for a massage would be a welcome surprise (unless they are the small population who doesn’t like to be touched).

Be well,

Inge

 

One thought on “Massage Therapy and Cancer

Leave a Reply

