Constipation

photo credit; pixshark.com

photo credit; pixshark.com

UPDATE:

It’s a few minutes after 6 o’clock and everything started moving out (and into the bag) a couple hours ago. Apple juice sure works fast! I gave it some extra time though, before eating solid food. Everything looks good.

If you have a stoma, make sure to pay attention to changes in your stool or lack of, in case something else is going on. If you think it’s only constipation, try drinking unfiltered apple juice. Things should be back to normal within hours. If not, or if you experience pain or see blood… contact your doctor.

If you have no idea what I’m writing about, continue reading the rest of this post to catch up.

Ingebird

Yesterday afternoon I felt a twinge near my stoma. It wasn’t a cramp but it got my attention. I didn’t have a bowel movement that morning and figured that the twinge was just gas and things would get rolling soon. A few hours later there were more twinges and still no stool in my bag… well, there was a tiny bit, but not enough to qualify as a normal movement for me.

I decided to wait and watch before I jumped to any conclusions, like a blockage. Its been a few years since I was constipated and this is probably what is going on now. I thought about my diet and if there was anything new that I ate, which could be causing an issue. The only new food is jasmine rice. I usually eat basmati and after I cook it, it has a rice texture. The jasmine comes out mushy, like mashed potatoes. I cooked it two different times, each time adjusting the water-to-rice ratio and got the same results. I ate the rice with sautéed red peppers, onions and black beans. Could that combination be stopping me up? For the rest of the day I ate raw foods dipped in hummus and drank lots of water.

This morning the twinging stopped but I only had a couple nuggets inside my bag. I am definitely constipated. There are plenty of over the counter stool softeners I could buy but I stay away from medications, if at all possible. So, I went to the store and bought a bottle of unfiltered organic apple juice. I will drink the 32 ounce bottle over the next couple hours to see if that helps. I did eat my usual breakfast; coffee and organic peanut butter on Ezekiel toast, before I went to the store, but the rest of the day will be just juice, smoothies and water. I need to flush myself out and reset my digestion.

Hopefully things will be back to normal by this evening and I can eat a little something. I will update my progress later tonight.

Be well and eat healthy!

Ingebird

2 thoughts on “Constipation

  1. My “never fail” remedy for constipation: eat one kiwi before breakfast and another after dinner. The black seeds in the kiwi act as strong stool softeners. Works like a charm! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

