Alternative Integrative Therapies Part 6: Hemp Balm

Salvation-Balm-Mockup-Recovered-Red-Charcoal

Last Wednesday I was at the Infusion Center visiting with patients and I smelled a lovely fragrance coming from one of the women sitting in a treatment chair as I walked by. The fragrance was so nice I had to go back and ask what she was wearing. It turns out she was using a balm on her face made from hemp oil. I know about hemp oil but never heard of it used as a balm. I wanted to know more about it.

Do you see CBD on the label of the balm in the picture? CBD stands for Cannabidiol, which reduces the psychological effects of marijuana. In other words you won’t get “high.”  It has been known to help with pain, anxiety, and nausea, which are the main symptoms of chemotherapy and radiation! There is a synthetic form of marijuana called Marinol, which is widely prescribed by doctors, but I haven’t met anyone so far who says it works for them. it didn’t work for me either.

This patient uses it to control pain on parts of her face that had radiation. She has a tumor growing behind her eye socket and had ten treatments of radiation to kill it. Radiologists work hard to make sure that only the tumor gets radiated but, I know from experience that the effects “ripple” away from the target. The flesh surrounding the tumor, as well as internal organs are effected. When I got radiated, the beam was aimed at he left side of my butt, a couple inches down from my left hipbone. The frontal area (my pubic area) and both upper thighs turned grey from the treatment for months. It took almost two years to get healthy tissue from my pelvic exam. In other words a large portion of my lower torso, front and back got fried and the pain was the worst I ever felt.

I don’t know if a cream or balm would have helped me (I opted for opiates and marijuana edibles), but this woman said it works wonders for her. She buys it a local medical marijuana dispensary in Orange County, CA, but I found it online as well. The name of the company who makes it is Dixie Botanicals. The balm is called Salvation Balm. Since their products are made from hemp it can be shipped anywhere in the United States.

I am guessing this balm might help people with skin cancer too but I would ask an integrated/holistic healthcare practitioner to make sure. In fact, I would always ask for help from a medical practitioner before treating myself. There are too many things that could go wrong and when it comes to my health, I won’t take chances.

Be well!
Ingebird

2 thoughts on “Alternative Integrative Therapies Part 6: Hemp Balm

Leave a Reply

