Have You Thought About Your Posture Lately?

A couple of weeks ago I was walking by my full length mirror and the reflection showed a hunched over woman. It wasn’t a huge hunch, but it probably is well on its way to become one. I don’t want to be that woman in the mirror so I am doing something about it. Several months ago my primary care doctor told me I have osteoporosis. She told me I need to take Fosomax to manage it and that I will be taking it for life. At the time, I told her I would think about it, knowing that I would research the medication before taking it. After weighing the pros and cons, I decided to not take it and find a healthier solution. I now lift hand weights and practice yoga, but none of those addressed my bad posture, that is until I figured out I need to be conscious of what I’m doing.

See the hunch? I repositioned myself to get a flat spine

See the hunch? I repositioned myself to get a flat spine

My husband helped me figure out how to do modified poses, making sure my spine was as straight as I could get it. No more hunching over. Even now as I type this, I am conscious of my posture. It will take practice but I am determined to walk/sit as straight as possible. Walking will be another issue because I am six feet tall and my walker is too short for me, even with the legs as high as they will go. Next week we will look for a taller walker, meanwhile I walk mindfully. My goal is to someday get rid of the walker. After some looking, I found some poses that address my balance issues so that could become a real possibility.

My back muscles are sore today, so that’s a good sign. For me it means I am working muscles I haven’t used in a while and the new yoga video I’ve been watching and practicing with, helps me be aware of my body.

The next time you see your reflection, check out your posture. Are you hunched over? A lot of us sit at computers all day so I know there are at least a few who could some “back awareness”.

Be Well and Happy!

Ingebird

Leave a Reply

