Omega 6 Deficiency and Dermatitus

olive oil

 

It’s been a little over a year since the skin on my face changed.  I was diagnosed with eczema and prescribed a steroid cream. It went away (somewhat) but when I stopped using it, it came back worse. So I started snooping the Internet for answers. There were so many natural recommendations and I tried several, but they all made my skin worse… until I found a video of a young woman who suggested taking three tablespoons organic virgin olive oil daily, along with two capsules organic olive leaf. My skin cleared up in four months. I have a small patch sometimes when it gets extremely hot, but for the most part I am happy with the results.

Then I got to thinking the other day as to WHY I got eczema in the first place. I seem to have controlled the symptom but don’t know how it started, so I got back on the Internet to investigate. I found a study written in Science Daily that suggests that omega 6 deficiency causes severe dermatitus. Organic virgin olive oil has omega 3 and omega 6.

Most Americans eat a “Standard American Diet” (SAD) and get too much omega 6 fats, leading to all kinds of serious health problems: diabetes, high cholesterol, heart disease. The key to good health is to have a balanced ratio of Omega 6 and Omega 3. I became vegan in early 2011, so maybe it took a few years for my body to become depleted. I have since included more nut butters and avocados to my diet and of course the organic olive oil.

If you are having dry skin problems, you might get good results from the olive oil regimen. It couldn’t hurt to try; it’s food and food is the best medicine!

Stay Well and Be Happy!

Ingebird

Leave a Reply

