“Living Sick and Dying Young in America”

drug

I volunteer at the hospital that saved my life and I am forever grateful to everyone who worked hard to make that happen. That being said I have mixed feelings when it comes to our healthcare system. Many patients who come to the infusion center already have several serious health conditions even before they were diagnosed with cancer. You should see all the prescription bottles they bring along. I am lucky I don’t need medications… no, I take that back… luck has nothing to do with it. I research alternative methods. I truly believe that for every prescription drug there is an equal (if not better) alternative, whether it’s a supplement, herb or just plain food.

My doctors do listen to me when I talk to them about my diet and lifestyle change, but I don’t know if they really believe me when I tell them my changes are the reason I am cancer free and healthier than before. They are trained in western medicine theory (and these days the pharmaceutical companies are donating big money to hospital universities. It makes sense that they want doctors to view them as the panacea for all disease). There are doctors at the hospital who are progressive and tell their patients to stay away from sugar. I know this¬†because their patients tell me. Why no sugar? Cancer feeds on sugar. I think sugar is one of the main culprits for our obesity problem and assortment of other serious diseases, not to mention, it’s addicting.

My primary care doctor recently suggested that I take Fosomax (for the rest of my life) to manage my osteoporosis. We went round and round about why she thinks it will help me and I told her I was not willing to risk the side effects that range from a deteriorated jaw bone to esophageal cancer. Of course she says those risks are small but I am the one who has to live with the consequences. She finally gave up when I told her I had my own plan. I know she means well, but I also know that the “drug pushers” (pharma reps) sold her on their drug. She doesn’t have time to sit down and look up these drugs for herself. On an average day, doctors see about sixty patients. I’m sure when they get home, the last thing they want to do is more work, so they rely on the information the drug rep gives them. And lets be honest drug reps are salespersons. It’s their job to sell drugs, not go into all the possible complications. If you don’t know about all the problems this drug has caused, Google it for complaints.

I found this post on Twitter by “Health Impact New Daily” and I think it explains what’s going on with our healthcare system quite well. Read it and tell me what you think:

“Living Sick and Dying Young in America”

Be Well,
Ingebird

Leave a Reply

