There Are Worse Things in Life Than Osteoporosis

fosamax joke

I saw my primary doctor on Friday to find out the results of my bone scan. I have severe osteoporosis. I guess I won’t be doing any skydiving. My doctor wants me to take Fosamax for the rest of my life. That doesn’t sound like something I want to do. Have you seen all the commercials from lawyers these days, looking for patients who got sicker from the side effects of these drugs — years after they were approved by the FDA? My doctor told me the most common side effect is gastrointestinal problems. HELLO! Did she forget I just had a SEVERE problem with that a few years ago…called cancer…why would I risk putting myself through that again??? When I went home I looked up the side effects for myself and this caught my eye:

“In rare cases, this medicine may cause bone loss (osteonecrosis) in the jaw. Symptoms include jaw pain or numbness, red or swollen gums, loose teeth, or slow healing after dental work. The longer you use Fosamax, the more likely you are to develop this condition. Osteonecrosis of the jaw may be more likely if you have cancer or received chemotherapy, radiation, or steroids. Other risk factors include blood clotting disorders, anemia (low red blood cells), and a pre-existing dental problem.”

I already have dental issues that I cannot afford to fix, caused by the chemo. Why would I take the chance of losing my teeth and look like a meth addict without the benefits of getting high??? Thanks, but no thanks.

So, I researched the Internet for alternatives and asked for ideas from my Face Book peeps. It turned out that they had a lot to say and all agreed — Fosamax is a bad idea. One of them who is an acupuncturist told me that this drug does “lay down” new bone tissue on top of the old one, but the new one is just as fragile. So what’s the point?

Then I looked for complaints from those taking the drug. There was plenty on the Consumer Affairs website.

This website lists lawsuits against Merck who makes Fosamax.

Here is another website. The only one who seems to benefit from this drug are injury attorneys.

Someone even has a whole blog devoted to the horrors of Fosamax!

My alternative treatment plan is to walk a mile a day, do wall push ups, and lift five-pound weights.  Weight bearing exercise is a good alternative.  I will also take a magnesium/calcium citrate supplement.  My acupuncturist friend suggested I add organic powdered maca root to my daily green smoothie. I looked it up online and read that doctors in Peru give it to their patients to treat their osteoporosis. If it’s good enough for Peruvian doctors, it’s good enough for me.

My doctor expects a decision from me in two weeks. The answer is ” HELL NO!”

Be well,

Inge

2 thoughts on “There Are Worse Things in Life Than Osteoporosis

  1. I have never been prescribed Fosamax, but other prescribed drugs to treat my diagnoses of: Breast Cancer, Fibromyalgia, and Rheumatoid resulted in some rather serious side-effects that I live with daily, So, I understand the doubts.

Leave a Reply

