Faith vs. Hope

faith-vs-fear

hope
/hōp/
noun
* a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.

faith
/fāTH/
noun
* complete trust or confidence in someone or something.

I was listening to the commencement speech Jim Carrey gave to the 2014 graduating class at Maharishi University. I always liked Carrey’s sense of humor and found out not to long ago that he has a lot to say about his spiritual journey. There are lots of comedians who make us laugh and at the same time if you really pay attention some of them have a message for us. Carrey does just that.

Part way through his speech he got my attention when he talked about the difference between hope and faith. I like to believe that I am giving a sense of hope to the patients I visit and coach, when I tell them my story of survival. I always believed that hope was the appropriate word, but now I changed my mind.

I used to think that the word faith was only tied to a religious belief. I don’t follow any organized religions. They don’t appeal to me. I have too many questions that get me in trouble. I do not follow anyone on “blind” faith. For me doing so means I have to give up my common sense.

After hearing Carrey explain what faith means to him, I changed my mind. When I was told my diagnosis, I knew I was going to survive. I can’t explain it, but I knew. My nurses kept checking on me, waiting for me to have the “melt down.” It never happened. I remember one nurse coming to see me at my hospital bed the day after I was told I had stage 4 cancer; she told me the majority of patients fell apart after hearing such news. She wanted to know what my secret was. Why was I so upbeat? (although I am willing to bet that some of the staff thought I was in shock or was simply in denial). I was neither one of those. I just knew. And I think that is what Carrey calls faith.

I still have that faith (along with a sense of humor similar to Carreys). Making fun of a hairy situation is always my choice of action.  Even when things seem to get crazy, I know that I will come through it. I know things will work out for the best. It always has.

Be well,
Inge

Leave a Reply

