Full Moon Drumming

fullmoon1

There have been 724 full moons since I was born. I find that mind-boggling. Do you know how many there have been in your life so far? I don’t remember when I actually started noticing the full moon — I mean really noticing it. I don’t look at the sky as I often as I would like. I seem to be busy with other stuff these days.

I used to burn a candle on the full moon and write down affirmations on bits of paper, then burned them, sending them off to the night sky. But I stopped doing that. I don’t really know why. I think I just forget.

I have been watching Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey, on the National Geographic Channel and that program sparked my interest in astronomy. Neal deGrasse Tyson is the host, and he has a knack for making science fun and interesting (at least for me). I look up at the sky a lot more often now. Thank you Neal for reminding me to look up!

There is a Full Moon Drum Circle at Alijso Beach, about an hour south of me, so yesterday I went. The parking was a challenge but I finally got one and I’m so glad I did. There were drummers already playing when I arrived, along with fire dancers. I’ve never seen fire dancers in person and I must say I was impressed.

There were two groups of drummers. The one I was closest to had a fire pit in the middle.  People banged on drums, pots and pans, upside down buckets: some played the flute, while others danced.

The other group is where the fire dancers were. They performed in the middle of a much larger circle of drummers and dancers. The crowd kept growing and by the end of the night, I’m guessing there were over 300 people. We were quite an eclectic bunch, who came together to celebrate the full moon.

I left my shoes in the car, wanting to feel the sand between my toes. It felt good, but I needed my walker to get around. Several people came up, offering to help me get to where I was going. Finally I found a place to sit and I sat in lotus on the sand, taking in as much of the sensations as I could. I wanted to be fully in “the present moment.” The drum beat was hypnotic but I also felt something else. I think one could define it as “love.” Peace was there too. How nice it felt. Wouldn’t it be nice if I could carry that feeling everywhere I went?

I contemplated how many of our ancestors did the very same thing for thousands of years. I sat in wonder and complete peace.

My camera doesn't do it justice, but that's what it looked like peeking over the bluff

My camera doesn’t do it justice, but that’s what it looked like peeking over the bluff

We were only allowed to remain on the beach until 10 p.m. and that’s the time the moon finally came over the bluff showing herself to us. I am so grateful to live in such a beautiful place where I can join like-minded people to celebrate being alive.

I want to get back to my rituals and maybe start some new ones that will keep me aware of the rhythms of life.

Here is a sample of the drumming before the sunset:

 

Namaste,

Inge

Leave a Reply

