I’m Back in the Gym (sort of)

dogexercise

I have been going to the gym most of my adult life. I enjoy lifting weights, using the universal weight machines and the treadmill. I feel better when I go to the gym. That stopped when I got sick and it has been three years since I went back. Yesterday I discovered there is a small exercise room in the senior center where I take writing classes, so I signed up to use the treadmill. They have a few treadmills, stationary bikes and one universal machine for upper body strengthening, which for now, is all I need.

I got on the treadmill and soon discovered that I am not ready for that, even the lowest setting (10 miles an hour) is too fast for my feet to keep up. I rode the stationary bike and I was only able to peddle at a medium speed for four minutes. My legs hurt too much after that. I was able to do three sets of twenty reps with the universal machine though. I am happy about that.

I am really out of shape. I am disappointed that I can’t walk the treadmill… for now… but I am one stubborn broad. I will continue to ride the stationary bike and work my way up to at least twenty minutes and I will keep trying to get on that treadmill.

If there is something you want to do but aren’t as good at it, as you think you should be, don’t give up. Keep trying. That’s all that matters. Like the Nike commercial says, “Just do it!”

Be well,

Inge

Leave a Reply

