Medical Marijuana Part 3

medical_marijuana

So by now, hopefully, you read some pretty incredible stories from people who survived cancer using medical marijuana from my earlier posts — but now what? I mean how does one buy or make hemp oil? And is there another way to ingest it? How does cannabis help in managing and treating diseases and illness?  I don’t know the answers to these questions either — I am learning along with you.

To be honest, when I was sick with cancer, I didn’t know anything about medical marijuana, except when I ate cookies made with cannabis butter — I stopped throwing up. I did not know of people who were using it to cure their cancer. And I don’t know if I would have given up on conventional treatment and gone with hemp oil. Back then my roller coaster ride with conventional treatment kept my brain pretty foggy — my window of opportunity was too narrow and I didn’t have the luxury of doing intensive Internet research. I had a hard enough time just staying awake from all the pain meds. I wasn’t in any shape to make any major decisions — in fact my son was my Advance Directive.

But that was then and this is now. Now I am very interested in learning more.

You might already know this, but I didn’t — heating cannabis (either through smoking or other ways) releases the main psychoactive chemical called tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and that’s why we get stoned. Ok, I knew it was the THC that got me high when I was younger but I didn’t know it was the act of smoking that put things in motion. Ingesting raw cannabis does not get you stoned.

I didn’t get stoned from eating cannabis cookies when I was going through treatment, but maybe that was because I was already high from the many opiates I was taking on a regular basis to control pain. And believe me, my anal cancer was a huge pain-in-my-ass!

I should also mention that my doctor prescribed Marinol (a synthetic version of a cannabinoid). It did not work for me. I was still nauseated and I could not eat. The real cannabinoid from the marijuana plant did work.

Endocannabinoids are produced naturally in the body by humans and animals. They play an important role in regulating inflammation processes. Inflammation is linked to cancer.  Phytocannabinoids (also called natural cannabinoids, herbal cannabinoids, and classical cannabinoids) are known to occur in several different plant species. These include Cannabis sativa, Cannabis indica, Cannabis ruderalis, Echinacea purpurea, Echinacea angustifolia, Echinacea pallida, Acmella oleracea, Helichrysum umbraculigerum, and Radula marginata.[10] The best known herbal cannabinoids are Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) from Cannabis and the lipophilic alkamides (alkylamides) from Echinacea species.

I got this information from the National Cancer Institute website:

Cannabinoids are active chemicals in Cannabis that cause drug-like effects throughout the body, including the central nervous system and the immune system. They are also known as phytocannabinoids. The main active cannabinoid in Cannabis is delta-9-THC. Another active cannabinoid is cannabidiol, which may relieve pain and lower inflammation without causing the “high” of delta-9-THC.

Hopefully this information has helped you better understand cannabinoids and how they can be used to fight cancer. But now what? Information is good, but putting that information into action seems daunting. Thank the Goddess for the Internet! It seems to have answers to all the questions I ask…

Where can you buy hemp oil?

If you are lucky enough to live in one of the twenty states that legalized medical marijuana, you will find hemp oil in a marijuana dispensary. You won’t find it online and get it in the mail. You have to show up in person.

There is something called hemp seed oil and it is not the same thing as hemp oil. Hemp seed oil is a dietary supplement that can be purchased online, but it will not work for cancer treatment. It must be hemp oil.

What if I don’t live in a state where it’s legal yet?

Ask anyone in their twentys. They know where to buy cannabis. You probably won’t be able to buy the oil ready made but you can make your own. Thanks to the Internet you can learn how to make it from the cannabis dried leaves and flowers. I found a good hemp oil recipe that includes all the weed terminology you ever wanted to know on wikiHow.com… I will admit though, it looks like a lot of work.

Is there another way to ingest cannabis to kill cancer?

Apparently, yes. According to Donald Abrams M.D. (the same guy in the video above) juicing is a good alternative and believes that marijuana should be classified a vegetable. Vegetables are typically defined as a “herbaceous plant grown for an edible part, usually eaten as part of a meal.” This typically refers to the leaf, stem, flower, or root of a plant. In 1967, the meaning of “vegetable,” was specified to mean, “Plant cultivated for food, edible herb or root.” Some vegetables may be eaten raw, and others must be cooked in order to be edible. When certain fruits and vegetables are heated, they lose tons of beneficial enzymes and nutrients. Cannabis is no different.

Move over Jamba Juice, Ganja Juice is coming to a town near you. Well, actually I made that up… but it could happen. We never thought medical marijuana would be legal ten years ago either.

William L. Courtney, MD who has done research of cannabis as a dietary supplement states, there are real health benefits to drinking cannabis juice. The body is able to tolerate larger dosages of cannabinoids when cannabis is consumed in the raw form. This is because when you smoke cannabis, the THC actually acts as a CB1 receptor agonist and your body can only absorb about ten mg at a time. If it is consumed in its raw state the body can absorb up to five or six hundred milligrams.

Dr. Courtney is from Mendocino California, an area well known for hemp fields. He has an interesting biography…of course we never hear about him on mainstream television. He received a Bachelor of Science in Microbiology from the University of Michigan and a Doctor of Medicine from Wayne State University. He is currently a member of International Cannabinoid Research Society, the International Association of Cannabis as Medicine, and the Society of Cannabis Clinicians. He works with dispensaries in Europe and US interested in providing high dose raw / juiced cannabis to seriously ill patients.

Dr. Courtney explains the importance of cannabis to the planet in this video:

Stay tuned for Part 4 of my Award Winning Blog Series…. Medical Marijuana…

(if you missed part 2 click here)

Peace and Good Health!

Inge

3 thoughts on “Medical Marijuana Part 3

  1. Thanks for this information. The reality of it is I am uncertain how it will actually work for me. For one, I feel cheated to take cannabis and not get high, is that not the whole point? might as well go for the whole shebang! then there is this big what if….because even though the lab experiments are successful with lab rats, it is not a guarantee that it will work the same way if I ingested it. The bottom line is, I am pretty desperate at this point and would really want to try it, however; there is no way we can monitor what it is exactly doing to me, so there goes my mixed feelings about the whole thing, even though I agree that it helps with the nausea…guess am not as daring as I once was…I wish God can give me an answer!

    Have a pleasant evening!

    Date: Fri, 15 Nov 2013 03:53:57 +0000
    To: carmelocenteno@hotmail.com

  2. Carmelo,

    I understand where you are coming from. The reason I share new information with my readers is because I firmly believe knowledge is power. I also believe that it is up to the patient as to what treatment plan is best for them. Did you watch the videos? Humans are given cannabis as treatment and in earlier posts I shared that Israel is light years ahead of the U.S. when it comes to that.

    I still have a couple more posts to share about medical cannabis that might clear up any questions you still have. Thank you for your in put. I appreciate it and it helps me be a better communicator.

  3. Pingback: Medical Marijuana Part 4 | rectalcancermyass

Leave a Reply

