Heather’s Story

1175122_670774432962534_883974892_n

I was contacted via email from a woman who found my blog on the Internet; she is a mesothelioma survivor and here is her story:

My name is Heather and I am a wife, mother, and a mesothelioma survivor. When      my daughter was 3 ½ months old, I was diagnosed with this rare and deadly cancer, and given 15 months to live. Despite my grim prognosis, I knew that I needed to beat the odds for my newborn daughter, Lily. It’s been 7 years now and I feel that it’s my duty to pay it forward by inspiring others. I want to use my personal story to help raise awareness of this little known cancer, and to provide a sense of hope for others facing life’s difficult challenges

September 26 is Mesothelioma Awareness Day. Heather has a Face Book page.  Her goal is to reach 7,000 new “likes” to raise awareness. Please visit her page or if you prefer, you can check out her website here. It is full of valuable information.

There are so many cancers out there these days and only a handful get any real media attention. I think it’s up to each of us to take advantage of social media and spread the word ourselves.

The purpose of my blog is to encourage others and maybe inspire them to start their own blogs; sharing their stories and how they either beat cancer or live (thrive) with it. Anyone is welcome to contact me with ideas or share their own stories.

Heather’s story is also another reminder that doctors are doctors and not fortune tellers. I have yet to meet someone with an expiration date stamped on their foot.

Meanwhile, please support Heather and help get the word out…

Happiness and Health!

Inge

Leave a Reply

